Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
proflie-avatar
Login
exit_to_app
DEEP READ
Schools breeding hatred
access_time 14 Sep 2023 10:37 AM GMT
Ukraine
access_time 16 Aug 2023 5:46 AM GMT
When ‘Jai Sree Ram’ becomes a death call
access_time 15 Feb 2024 9:54 AM GMT
Strengthening the Indian Republic
access_time 26 Jan 2024 4:43 AM GMT
When the US and UK fight Houthis
access_time 17 Jan 2024 6:08 AM GMT
exit_to_app
Homechevron_rightSportschevron_rightCricketchevron_rightHayden accuses Umpires...

Hayden accuses Umpires of 'tag-teaming' with India

text_fields
bookmark_border
Hayden accuses Umpires of tag-teaming with India
cancel
camera_alt

Matthew Wade after getting out. ESPN Cric Info pic.

Sports: Legendary cricketer and former star player, as well as opener for Australia, Matthew Hayden, accused umpires of "tag teaming" with India. He referred to the final match of the T20I series that took the stage on Sunday in Bengaluru's Chinnaswamy Stadium, NDTV reported.

India won the match for six runs after well-delivered death overs.

During the Sunday match, Shreyas Iyer's pretty fifty took India to 160 for eight at the Bengaluru Chinnaswamy Stadium. Freshers Arshdeep Singh and Mukesh Kumar managed the death overs carefully, allowing Australia to take 154 in 20 overs and lose eight wickets.

Arshdweep was expensive before, and the Aussies needed only ten runs from the last over. However, he held on to his nerves, with calculated lengths for his deliveries, so Mathew Wade struggled to drive them. Wade, who was making an effort to bring the team to victory, hit three boundaries back-to-back in the 18th over but fell before Arshdweep in the final over, in which the bowler gave only three runs.

The first ball of the last over was a bouncer, and when Matthew Wade appealed for a wide, but the umpire did not agree. Hayden was also convinced, just like Wade, that the ball was wide, and he mentioned so while commentating following the replay of the said instant.

He said that one can realize why Wade was upset, because the ball was over his head despite he was standing up.

Also, in the second last delivery of the over, Nathan Ellis's shot struck the umpire, Virender Sharma. The commentators discussed the possibility of the ball reaching the boundary if it had not hit the umpire.

Hyden commentated here, "The umpire has done his job for the second time this over. Have a look at this. This time, it's the one in front, not on the square. They are tag-teaming here."

However, fans came up with criticism that a legend like him must not go after umpires like that.

Show Full Article
TAGS:sportscricket
Next Story