Mankading: Deepti Sharma did no wrong, says Anjum Chopratext_fields
New Delhi: Indian skipper Anjum Chopra asserted that all-rounder Deepti Sharma had all the rights to run out Charlie Dean during the third ODI against England at Lord's on Saturday, IANS reported.
Deepti, who was on a bowling stride, running out Dean, who left the non-striker's crease early, had churned a debate in the cricketing world. Though Deepti's action was correct per cricketing law, many cricketers, particularly from England's side, questioned and criticised the same.
Dean, who fell into tears, was totally amazed after being run-out in the 44th over.
Anjum Chopra said, "if it were wrong, TV Umpire would have given not out", backing Deepti.
"ICC has made these laws, and it has been derived from the UK itself. Deepti had all the rights to run out a batter because the batter had left the crease prior to the delivery being bowled," Anjum Chopra told IANS.
"On-field umpire too had referred the decision to the third umpire, and that decision came from there, so I don't think there is any confusion or any disparity as to if any side was favoured or not favoured."
"I don't know why there is confusion, if it were not in the laws of the game, both on-field and TV umpires would have said the batter was not out," she added.
Charlie Dean's wicket presented India with a 16-run win on the match as well as a series win of 3-0. The former skipper lauded Team India for their performance.
Chopra said, "It's been very nice, I was there in 1999. There are a lot of areas where they need improvement but the Indian team winning the series is a healthy sign. It is a commendable performance since the Indian team didn't have that kind of experience about conditions which England had."
India has now made it six wins from six matches in the ICC Women's Championship 2022-2025.