Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Homechevron_rightSportschevron_rightCricketchevron_rightT20I squad vs West...

T20I squad vs West Indies: Rohit to captain; no Kohli, Bumrah

T20I squad vs West Indies: Rohit to captain; no Kohli, Bumrah

Mumbai: The Board of Control of Cricket in India (BCCI) announced the Indian team for the five-match T20I series against the West Indies. The board named Rohit Sharma as skipper, while Virat Kohli and Jasprit Bumrah were not named in the team, NDTV reported.

The removal of Kohli and Bumrah has not been announced through any BCCI statement or tweet, NDTV adds. Kohli has been struggling to find form lately. He had missed the first ODI against England due to a groin strain, and his participation in the 2nd ODI today is also not confirmed.

Further, KL Rahul, who was not in the team because of injury, has been brought back to the squad, but including him in the playing eleven will depend on his fitness. Ravichandran Ashwin has replaced Yuzvendra Chahal in the spin department. Kuldeep Yadav and Arshdweep Singh got in, but the former's inclusion will depend on his fitness. Meanwhile, Umran Malik is not part of the squad.

Those in the team include Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, and Ishan Kishan, while the series is set to begin on July 29. There will be a three-match ODI series too, which is scheduled on July 22, ahead of the T20I series.

Earlier, the team for the ODI series against West Indies had not included Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant, and Jasprit Bumrah. ODI team is to be led by Shikhar Dhawan.

T20I Squad: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Ishan Kishan, KL Rahul*, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Shreyas Iyer, Dinesh Karthik, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, R Ashwin, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav*, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh.

Show Full Article
TAGS:India West Indies T20I Rohit Sharma Virat Kohli Jasprit Bumrah KL Rahul Ravichandran Ashwin Yuzvendra Chahal BCCI Umran Malik 
Next Story