Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Geert Wilders
access_time 28 Nov 2023 4:50 AM GMT
Cusat tragedy: Let experience be a lesson
access_time 27 Nov 2023 4:00 AM GMT
A Constitution always in the making
access_time 27 Nov 2023 11:43 AM GMT
How long will the ceasefire last?
access_time 25 Nov 2023 5:56 AM GMT
The signal from Silkyara tunnel incident
access_time 24 Nov 2023 5:53 AM GMT
This mind-set needs treatment
access_time 23 Nov 2023 4:46 AM GMT
Schools breeding hatred
access_time 14 Sep 2023 10:37 AM GMT
access_time 16 Aug 2023 5:46 AM GMT
A Constitution always in the making
access_time 27 Nov 2023 11:43 AM GMT
Debunking myth of Israel’s existence
access_time 23 Oct 2023 7:01 AM GMT
Homechevron_rightSportschevron_rightFootballchevron_rightFIFA Women's World...

FIFA Women's World Cup: 11 teams qualify for knockout stage so far

FIFA Womens World Cup: 11 teams qualify for knockout stage so far

The Round of 16 of the 2023 Women's World Cup in Australia and New Zealand is just around the corner.

As the competition for the championship for those still in the running heats up, the 32 qualified national teams competing in the group stage will be reduced to 16 for the next level of the competition.

So far Switzerland, Norway, Nigeria, Australia, Japan, Spain, England, Denmark, USA, Netherlands and Sweden have qualified for the Round of 16.

FIFA has already predetermined the whole bracket ahead of the event; only the slots need to be filled in by the final group stage results. There will be no second chances after the Round of 16 since the competition will be a win or go home knockout battle, The Sporting News reported.

The Round of 16 matchups are pre-set, and the bracket is modified once each team wins first place or second place in its respective group.

Because every match is single elimination from this point on, the Round of 16 marks the beginning of what is known as the knockout rounds.

There aren't any points acquired. Standings don't exist. There is only one winner and one loser.

Group winners are paired against group runners-up in the Round of 16.


Saturday, Aug. 5

49 - Switzerland vs. Spain - (Eden Park, Auckland; 10.30 am)

50 - Japan vs. Norway - (Wellington Regional; 1.30 pm)

Sunday, Aug. 6

51 - Netherlands vs. Runners-up of Group G - (Sydney Football Stadium; 7.30 am)

52 - Winners of Group G vs. United States - (Melbourne Rectangular; 2.30 pm)

Monday, Aug. 7

53 - England vs. Nigeria - (Stadium Australia, Sydney; 1 pm)

54 - Australia vs. Denmark - (Lang Park, Brisbane; 4 pm)

Tuesday, Aug. 8

55 - Winners of Group H vs. Runners-up of Group F - (Hindmarsh, Adelaide; 1.30 pm)

56 - Winners of Group F vs. Runners-up of Group H - (Melbourne Rectangular; 4.30 pm)

Show Full Article
TAGS:Knockout stageFIFA Women's World Cup
Next Story