Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Homechevron_rightSportschevron_rightNeeraj Chopra, Mithali ...

Neeraj Chopra, Mithali Raj recommended for Khel Ratna

Neeraj Chopra, Mithali Raj recommended for Khel Ratna

New Delhi: Olympic gold medalist Neeraj Chopra and cricket test skipper Mithali Raj are among the recommendations for Major Dhyanchand Khel Ratna by the selection committee.

Javelin thrower Neeraj Chopra became the second Indian to win an individual gold medal at the 2020 Tokyo Games. Silver medal-winning wrestler Ravi Dahiya is another athlete recommended for the honour.

Seasoned hockey goalkeeper PR Sreejesh, boxer Lovlina Borgohain, and Indian football team captain Sunil Chhetri also made it to the list. Lovlina had won bronze at the Tokyo Olympics. Chhetri is the first footballer to be selected for the award.

This year, the announcement of the awards was delayed in order to consider the performance of the para-athletes in Tokyo. Gold medalists at Tokyo Paralympics shooter Avani Lekhara and Manish Narwal, javelin thrower Sumit Antil, and shuttlers Pramod Bhagat and Krishna Nagar are also recommended for the Khel Ratna.

35 athletes were picked for the Arjuna award as well. Cricketer Shikhar Dhawan, para TT player Bhavina Patel, para shuttler Suhas Yathiraj and high jumper Nishad Kumar are among the recipients.

Members of the men's hockey team will also receive the Arjuna award. The team had won bronze in the Olympics this year after 31 years.

Show Full Article
Next Story