Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Transactions of crony democracy
access_time 5 March 2024 4:46 AM GMT
Flour massacre and Bidens ploys
access_time 4 March 2024 5:36 AM GMT
A defanged Lok Ayukta
access_time 2 March 2024 4:48 AM GMT
Maulana Azad
access_time 29 Feb 2024 7:04 AM GMT
Schools breeding hatred
access_time 14 Sep 2023 10:37 AM GMT
access_time 16 Aug 2023 5:46 AM GMT
When ‘Jai Sree Ram’ becomes a death call
access_time 15 Feb 2024 9:54 AM GMT
Strengthening the Indian Republic
access_time 26 Jan 2024 4:43 AM GMT
When the US and UK fight Houthis
access_time 17 Jan 2024 6:08 AM GMT
Homechevron_rightSportschevron_right'Which other medal...

'Which other medal should I win to get Arjuna?' Unhappy after Arjuna award snub,Sakshi Malik asks Modi, Rijiju

Which other medal should I win to get Arjuna? Unhappy after Arjuna award snub,Sakshi Malik asks Modi, Rijiju

Image Courtesy:

New Delhi: Olympic bronze medallist Sakshi Malik has expressed her displeasure at missing out on the Arjuna awards this year, in a tweet addressed to Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Sports Minister Kiren Rijiju.

"I am proud to have been conferred the Khel Ratna. Every sportsperson dreams of winning all the awards. A sportsperson puts her life at risk for it. I also dream of seeing Arjuna award winner against my name," the 27-year-old wrestler wrote in a message, of which she tweeted the screenshot while tagging Modi and Rijiju.

"Which other medal should I get for the country to be honoured with the Arjuna award? Or in this wrestling life, I would never have the good luck of winning this award?" Sakshi said. She has in the past bagged Padma Shri, the fourth highest civilian award in India.

The selection committee led by Justice Mukundakam Sharma (retd) had recommended 29 names for the Arjuna awards to the Sports Ministry.

The list also included Sakshi and 2017 weightlifting world champion Mirabai Chanu, but the decision of bestowing the Arjuna on them was left to the discretion of the Sports Ministry.

The Ministry decided against bestowing the Arjuna on Sakshi and Mirabai as the two have already been conferred with the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award.

Show Full Article
TAGS:KhelRatnaSakshi MalikKiran RijjuArjuna Ward Snubb
Next Story