Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
exit_to_app
exit_to_app
Homechevron_rightTechnologychevron_rightGoogle Maps gets a...

Google Maps gets a dark mode upgrade for iPhone users

text_fields
bookmark_border
Google Maps gets a dark mode upgrade for iPhone users
cancel

San Francisco: Google Maps will finally be getting a dark mode on iOS, nearly two years after Apple rolled out dark mode as part of iOS 13, as per a report by The Verge.

The most notable new feature, which is arriving in the coming weeks, is an alternative to light mode and allows for a darker user interface to match other dark mode apps on iOS devices.

According to Google, once available to users, it can be enabled in the Settings section of Google Maps. Google says that dark mode in Google Maps will save battery and "give eyes a break," reports MacRumors.

Apple first introduced the Dark Mode feature with iOS 13, but it has taken Google some time to bring support to its apps. Google earlier this year began rolling out a true dark mode feature to Android users, and the iOS version of dark mode for Google Maps looks similar to the Android version.

Along with dark mode, Google has announced the launch of new Messages integration.

With this feature, Google Maps users can share their real-time location with friends in an iMessage using the Google Maps button in the Messages app. Location is shared for one hour by default, but there is an option to extend access by up to three days or stop access at any time.

The company also highlighted the recently introduced widgets feature, which allows iPhone users to add a Google Maps widget to the Home Screen or the Today View. Widgets can be used to check traffic conditions or find nearby places.

The Google Maps app can be downloaded from the App Store for free.

Alongside the dark mode update, the search giant introduced a feature to let you share your real-time location with friends and family. The feature will let you share your live location for up to three days, but it defaults to one hour when turned on. You can also opt to stop sharing your location at any time.

Show Full Article
TAGS:Google Maps iPhone 
Next Story