Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Homechevron_rightIndiachevron_right14 Opposition parties...

14 Opposition parties boycott Constitution Day function in Parliament

14 Opposition parties boycott Constitution Day function in Parliament

Opposition parties have decided to boycott the Constitution Day programme in Parliament to protest the government’s ‘disrespect’ towards them.

Fourteen opposition parties including the Congress and the Trinamool Congress skipped the Constitution Day function being held in the Central Hall of Parliament today.

A senior Left leader said that leaders from the Opposition decided to take such a step against a government that "has been routinely insulting the Constitution".

According to sources, Congress leaders Mallikarjun Kharge, Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury, Anand Sharma and Jairam Ramesh had reached out to other Opposition leaders for the boycott of the event.

"How can we celebrate the Constitution Day when the government doesn't give any space to the opposition leaders?" a report by NDTV quoted a leader as saying.

Congress spokesperson Jaiveer Shergill said, "Post Independence many all over the world predicted that Indian democracy will not survive & yet here we are because of the Constitution which binds us "we the people of India"; no one should ever be allowed to dilute, weaken or fail our Constitution."

Majeed Memon of the NCP said, "BJP leaders want to celebrate Constitution Day in Central Hall with all solemnity and respect to the Constitution of India. It is a mockery to do so when they don't follow it on the ground."

The event was slated to be attended by President Kovind, Vice-President Venkaiah Naidu and Prime Minister Narendra Modi, and other leaders.

As per reports, the joint move to boycott the event by the Opposition as a protest against the Centre's "disrespect" towards them is expected to set the stage for a stormy Winter Session of Parliament beginning next week.

Meanwhile, the BJP hit out at the Opposition for boycotting the 'Constitution Day' celebrations and termed it as an "insult" to Dr Bhimrao Ambedkar, the chief architect of the Constitution.

In-charge of BJP's national information and technology department, Amit Malviya tweeted, "14 parties including Congress, Left, TMC, RJD, SS, NCP, SP, IUML and the DMK to boycott 'Constitution Day' celebrations in Central Hall. Congress, which created a big hue and cry during Nehru's birth anniversary program, is leading the boycott. This is an insult to Dr Ambedkar."

Show Full Article
TAGS:Constitution daydr br ambedkar
Next Story