Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Amid India-Canada diplomatic row
access_time 22 Sep 2023 4:00 AM GMT
K Radhakrishnan
access_time 21 Sep 2023 4:00 AM GMT
Womens quota in legislatures
access_time 20 Sep 2023 5:24 AM GMT
Extended Congress CWC meet raises hopes
access_time 19 Sep 2023 5:11 AM GMT
The saboteurs in the market of hate
access_time 18 Sep 2023 9:47 AM GMT
Schools breeding hatred
access_time 14 Sep 2023 10:37 AM GMT
access_time 16 Aug 2023 5:46 AM GMT
Remembering the Teachers
access_time 5 Sep 2023 6:24 AM GMT
Homechevron_rightIndiachevron_right21 out of 25 MLAs of...

21 out of 25 MLAs of Naga People's Front join NDPP in Nagaland

21 out of 25 MLAs of Naga Peoples Front join NDPP in Nagaland

Chief Minister Rio and BJP president Temjen Imna Along have said that they would continue with the alliance and contest the elections with the 2018 seat sharing formula of 40-20. (Image: PTI)

Kohima: In a major political development ahead of next year's Assembly polls in Nagaland, 21 out of 25 MLAs of the Naga People's Front (NPF), including its Legislature Party leader TR Zeliang, have joined the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) on Friday.

With the joining of the 21 NPF legislators, the strength of Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio-led NDPP has gone up to 42 in the 60-member Assembly. The NPF is left with four MLAs, the BJP has 12 while there are two Independent members.

"In order to strengthen the leadership of Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio and his government, as of this afternoon, 21 NPF MLAs have merged with the NDPP party officials. Along with them, former Member of Parliament (MP) Rajya Sabha (RS) KG Kenye joined the NDPP," said NDPP spokesperson Merentoshi Jamir.

The development comes after the party President Shurhozelie Liezietsu on Thursday announced that the party would contest the early next year's Assembly election on its own.

Nagaland Assembly speaker Sharingain Lokngkumer in an order said that he has received the claim of merger of 21 members of the NPF Legislature Party with the NDPP.

The NPF had joined the ruling People's Democratic Alliance comprising the NDPP and the BJP in August last year to form the United Democratic Alliance (UDA), an opposition-less government in the state with the object of pushing the Naga political issue forward.

Government spokesperson Neiba Kronu said that despite the fresh development, the UDA will continue to function.

"As political leaders, it is up to the legislators to join another party," he said, adding that the four remaining NPF legislators continue to be in the UDA.

Show Full Article
TAGS:NagalandndppNaga people front
Next Story