Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Schools breeding hatred
access_time 14 Sep 2023 10:37 AM GMT
access_time 16 Aug 2023 5:46 AM GMT
Remembering the Teachers
access_time 5 Sep 2023 6:24 AM GMT

Eleven parliamentarians to be conferred with Sansad Ratna awards

Eleven parliamentarians to be conferred with Sansad Ratna awards

New Delhi: Eight sitting Lok Sabha members and three Rajya Sabha members will be presented the Sansad Ratna Awards 2022 under various categories, based on their performance, said Prime Point Foundation on Tuesday.

NCP's Supriya Sule and BJD's Amar Patnaik are among 11 MPs who will be getting the award.

The 12th edition of the Sansad Ratna Award function will be held on February 26 in the national capital.

The jury committee has also nominated senior BJP leader from Tamil Nadu H V Hande and Congress veteran M Veerappa Moily for a lifetime achievement award while four parliamentary standing committees -- agriculture, finance, education and labour – will be awarded for their contributions.

According to the foundation, Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) MP Sule, Revolutionary Socialist Party (RSP) MP N K Premachandran and Shiv Sena MP Shrirang Appa Barne will be awarded the 'Sansad Vishisht Ratna' award for their sustained outstanding performance.

Trinamool Congress MP Saugata Roy (West Bengal), Congress MP Kuldeep Rai Sharma (Andaman and Nicobar Islands), and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) MPs Bidyut Baran Mahato (Jharkhand), Heena Vijayakumar Gavit (Maharashtra) and Sudhir Gupta (Madhya Pradesh) will get the Sansad Ratna Award for their performance in the 17th Lok Sabha, it said.

In the upper house, Biju Janata Dal (BJD) MP Amar Patnaik (Odisha) and NCP MP Fauzia Tahseen Ahmed Khan (Maharashtra) will be awarded for their performance in 2021 under the 'sitting members' category.

Communist Party of India (Marxist) MP K K Ragesh (Kerala) has been nominated for the award under the 'retired members in 2021' category for his outstanding performance during his full term in Rajya Sabha, said.

The awardees were selected based on their cumulative performance from the beginning of the 17th Lok Sabha till the end of the winter session 2021 based on the data provided by PRS India, Prime Point Foundation's founding chairman K Srinivasan said.

The Sansad Ratna Awards Committee was chaired by Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs Arjun Ram Meghwal and co-chaired by T S Krishnamurthy, former chief election commissioner of India.

The awards were instituted on the suggestion of former president late APJ Abdul Kalam, to honour the top-performing parliamentarians.

The first award function was held in 2010 in Chennai and Kalam himself launched the initiative. Till now, 75 top-performing parliamentarians have been honoured, according to the foundation.

Show Full Article
TAGS:Sansad ratna awardsupriya sule
Next Story