Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Homechevron_rightIndiachevron_rightHimanta Biswa Sarma...

Himanta Biswa Sarma sworn in as the 15th Chief Minister of Assam

Himanta Biswa Sarma sworn in as the 15th Chief Minister of Assam

Image tweeted by Himanta Biswa Sarma.

A day after he was elected the leader of the newly-elected BJP legislators in the state, Himanta Biswa Sarma was sworn in as the 15th Chief Minister of Assam on Monday. Governor Jagdish Mukhi administered the oath of office to Sarma at the Srimanta Sankardeva Kalakshetra in Guwahati.

Thirteen newly-elected MLAs were also sworn in today, of which ten are from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), two from the Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) and one from the United People Party Liberal (UPPL). The ministers are Ranjeet Kumar Dass, Atul Bora, UG Brahma, Parimal Suklabaidya, Chandra Mohan Patowary, Keshb Mahanta, Ranoj Pegu, Sanjay Kishan, Jogen Mohan, Ajanta Neog, Ashok Singhal, Pijush Hazarika, and Bimal Bora. Ajanta Neog is the sole woman minister in the 14-member Sarma ministry.

"Congratulations to @himantabiswa Ji and the other Ministers who took oath today. I am confident this team will add momentum to the development journey of Assam and fulfil aspirations of the people," PM Modi tweeted.

BJP president JP Nadda, former Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal, Tripura CM Biplab Kumar Deb, Meghalaya CM Conrad K Sangma, Manipur CM N Biren Singh, Nagaland CM Neiphiu Rio, Union DoNER Minister Jitendra Singh and a host of leaders and top dignitaries were present in the hour-long swearing-in-ceremony.

"With blessings & grace of people of Assam, I took over as Chief Minister of the state today. Taking Assam to greater heights of prosperity and making it as among the leading states, pursuing the ideals and values of Adarniya Pradhan Mantri Sri @narendramodi, is our pledge," Sarma tweeted.

Show Full Article
TAGS:Assam CM BJP Himanta Biswa Sarma 
Next Story