Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Homechevron_rightIndiachevron_rightThe sacrifice is...

The sacrifice is necessary, says Akhilesh Yadav on resignation as MP

The sacrifice is necessary, says Akhilesh Yadav on resignation as MP

Lucknow: On April 19, Akhilesh Yadav, the Samajwadi Party chief, resigned from the Lok Sabha in order to remain an MLA. He called it a "sacrifice" to fight inflation, unemployment and social injustice.

During the recently concluded elections in Uttar Pradesh, Akhilesh Yadav was elected to the Assembly from Karhal.

He represented Azamgarh as a Lok Sabha MP before being elected to the House.

In a tweet on Wednesday, Mr Yadav stated, "I will represent Karhal and stay committed to the progress of Azamgarh."

"This sacrifice is necessary for the struggle against inflation, unemployment and social injustice," he added in the tweet.

However, there are rumours that he might assume the role of leader of the opposition in the state Assembly.

After Yogi Adityanath's swearing-in ceremony on March 26, the party has already called a meeting of newly-elected MLAs and MLCs.

Mr Yadav, who has resigned as a Lok Sabha member, has made it clear that his attention is now on state politics following the defeat his party suffered in the Assembly polls against the BJP but emerged as the primary challenger.

Azam Khan, who won the Assembly election with the Samajwadi Party, also resigned from Parliament and is currently in jail on criminal charges. Mr Khan won the Assembly election with the Samajwadi Party.

After winning his maiden Assembly election, Akhilesh Yadav was elected state chief minister and a member of UP's Legislative Council.

After the Assembly elections, which were a bipolar contest, the BJP and its allies retained power with 125 seats and the Samajwadi Party with 125 seats.

According to reports, Akhilesh Yadav made the decision to focus on state politics because his remaining out of state politics following the 2019 parliamentary polls had not gone down well with the party in the Assembly elections.

The state Legislature will elect 36 members of the Legislative Council on April 9.

Elections for 11 Rajya Sabha seats and the presidential election are scheduled for July.

Show Full Article
TAGS:UPAkhilesh YadavMP
Next Story