Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
The farmers protest should not lose steam
access_time 2021-01-28T13:23:17+05:30
Representational Image
access_time 2021-01-27T18:29:57+05:30
Why Assange threatens the American dream?
access_time 2021-01-26T16:29:53+05:30
The big political stick called CBI
access_time 2021-01-26T13:39:50+05:30
Why the outcry after installing Apps?
access_time 2021-01-25T16:46:01+05:30
DEEP READAll arrow_drop_down
How the nation treated the memories of Ambedkar
access_time 2021-01-26T12:02:34+05:30
Anti-Conversion Law: A law meant for abuse
access_time 2021-01-12T13:56:35+05:30
Syed Shahriyaar
access_time 2021-01-05T19:08:46+05:30
Reading A week in the life of Svitlana
access_time 2020-12-23T12:06:42+05:30
Homechevron_rightIndiachevron_rightAchal K Jyoti takes...

Achal K Jyoti takes over as new Election Commissioner

Achal K Jyoti takes over as new Election Commissioner

New Delhi: Achal Kumar Jyoti, a former Chief Secretary of Gujarat, Wednesday took over as the new Election Commissioner, filling one of the two vacancies in the three-member body.

"Jyoti took over his charge today at the Election Commission of India here," a senior official said.

Jyoti is a 1975-batch Indian Administrative Service (IAS) officer who retired as state Gujarat Chief Secretary in January 2013.

He served in the top bureaucratic post of the state when Prime Minister Narendra Modi was Chief Minister.

Jyoti (62) has also served as the state Vigilance Commissioner and worked in various capacities in his cadre including as Chairman of the Kandla Port Trust between 1999 and 2004 and Managing Director of the Sardar Sarovar Narmada Nigam Ltd (SSNNL).

Born on January 23, 1953, Jyoti will have a tenure of nearly three years as ECs demit office at the age of 65.

An EC or a CEC has a tenure of six years in office or till he or she attains the age of 65 years, whichever is earlier.

After V S Sampath demitted office in January, H S Brahma was elevated as CEC. But after Brahma demitted office, two posts of ECs in the three-member body have remained vacant.

Between April 19, when Nasim Zaidi took over as the CEC till Wednesday, he was the only member in the poll body.

The government is soon expected to appoint one more Election Commissioner to fill up the last vacancy.

Jyoti has also worked as Secretary in the Industry, Revenue and Water Supply Departments.

Show Full Article
Next Story