Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Schools breeding hatred
access_time 14 Sep 2023 10:37 AM GMT
access_time 16 Aug 2023 5:46 AM GMT
A Constitution always in the making
access_time 27 Nov 2023 11:43 AM GMT
Debunking myth of Israel’s existence
access_time 23 Oct 2023 7:01 AM GMT
Homechevron_rightSportschevron_rightFootballchevron_rightPFA awards for Mohamed...

PFA awards for Mohamed Salah, Sam Kerr

PFA awards for Mohamed Salah, Sam Kerr

LONDON: Liverpool forward Mohamed Salah on the Thursday has been named men's player of the year by his fellow professionals in England, while Sam Kerr, Chelsea striker earned the women's award on Thursday.

Salah became only the seventh person to win the Professional Footballers' Association Award more than once after a season of 23 goals in the Premier League –tied with Tottenham's Son Heung-min - with 14 assists in a league.

"I have my room with trophies in a cabinet," Salah said, "and I made sure that I had another space for one more. I always keep space and just try to imagine that the trophies are going to come."

"When you get older," he added, "you feel like you're more stable and you know exactly what you want from football so I'm just trying to really chill and help the team. That's why I think I also (was the leading) playmaker because it's like you're more aware of the game, so you just try to make the people next to you better and try to make yourself better as well."

The star of Premier League champions Manchester City Kevin De Bruyne, has been aiming for the award for the third year in a row. De Bruyne was also on the shortlist along with Manchester United's Cristiano Ronaldo, Tottenham's Harry Kane, Liverpool's Virgil van Dijk and Sadio Mané.

Helping Chelsea to the title with 20 goals, Kerr was the team's top scorer in the Women's Super League. The team also won the Team FA Cup.

She is the first Australian to win the award. In 2000, Harry Kewell won the Young Player of the Year award, the New Indian Express reported.

"It's a massive honor, I think, whenever you're voted by your peers," Kerr said. "I think that's the highest honour as a player so it's an amazing feeling."

The Young Player of the Year award was won by Manchester City forward Phil Foden won the award for the second year in a row. City's Lauren Hemp got the women's award and is its first four-time winner.

Men's Team of the Year: Alisson (Liverpool), Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool), Antonio Rüdiger (Chelsea), João Cancelo (Manchester City), Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City), Thiago Alcântara (Liverpool), Bernardo Silva (Manchester City), Sadio Mané (Liverpool), Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United), Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)

Women's Team of The Year: Ann-Katrin Berger (Chelsea), Ona Batlle (Manchester United), Leah Williamson (Arsenal), Millie Bright (Chelsea), Alex Greenwood (Manchester City), Kim Little (Arsenal), Caroline Weir (Manchester City), Guro Reiten (Chelsea Women), Lauren Hemp (Manchester City), Sam Kerr (Chelsea), Vivianne Miedema (Arsenal)

Show Full Article
Next Story