Begin typing your search above and press return to search.
Schools breeding hatred
access_time 14 Sep 2023 10:37 AM GMT
access_time 16 Aug 2023 5:46 AM GMT
When ‘Jai Sree Ram’ becomes a death call
access_time 15 Feb 2024 9:54 AM GMT
Strengthening the Indian Republic
access_time 26 Jan 2024 4:43 AM GMT
When the US and UK fight Houthis
access_time 17 Jan 2024 6:08 AM GMT
Homechevron_rightSportschevron_rightYogeshwar Dutt, PT...

Yogeshwar Dutt, PT Usha two of eight SOMs selected by IOA Athletes Commission

Yogeshwar Dutt, PT Usha two of eight SOMs selected by IOA Athletes Commission

New Delhi: Yogeshwar Dutt, an Olympic bronze medalist in wrestling, and former sprinting champion PT Usha were two of the eight sportspeople of outstanding merit (SOMs) chosen on Saturday by the newly elected Athletes Commission to cast ballots in the Indian Olympic Association (IOA) elections on December 10.

The other six SOMs are M M Somaya (hockey), Rohit Rajpal (tennis), Akhil Kumar (boxing), Suma Shirur (shooting), Aparna Popat (badminton) and Dola Banerjee (archery).

However, the names of the eight SOMs were yet to be officially notified by Justice (retired) L Nageswara Rao, who was tasked by the Supreme Court to prepare the IOA constitution and hold elections.

Under the new constitution of the IOA prepared by Justice Rao, the eight SOMs, who will be a part of the General Assembly with voting rights, have four male and four female members. The IOA has already approved the constitution under a mandatory directive of the Supreme Court

"Yes, the selection of the eight SOMs has been done by the Athletes Commission and Justice LN Rao will notify it. It (the selection) went well," a source privy to the selection process told PTI on conditions of anonymity.

More than 70 former athletes had applied for the roles of eight SOMs and the Athletes Commission of the IOA had formed a five-member sub-committee to shortlist the candidates.

It is learnt that some members of the Athletes Commission had pushed for the entire selection process -- like the criteria, and the points system -- to be made public.

The 10-member Athletes Commission was elected on November 14. A day later, boxing legend M C Mary Kom was appointed its president while table tennis ace Achanta Sharath Kamal was made her deputy. The other members of the Athletes Commission are PV Sindhu, Shiva Keshavan, Mirabai Chanu, Gagan Narang, Rani Rampal, Bhavani Devi, Bajrang Lal and OP Karhana.

Show Full Article
TAGS:IOAYogeshwar DuttPT Usha
Next Story